Alejandro Zaffaroni

Alejandro Zaffaroni
Alejandro Zaffaroni
  • From:

    Alexza MDC | Mountain View, California

  • Year:


  • Subject:


  • Award:

    Bower Award for Business Leadership

  • Citation:

    For the creation, through a combination of scientific creativity and entrepreneurial insight and drive, of new biochemical processes, drug delivery technologies – most significantly, the birth control pill, transdermal patches, and once-a-day pills – and biomedical industries. He has leveraged his business successes so that he is broadly respected as a philanthropist and technical leader.

Alejandro Zaffaroni, during his 50-year career as a scientist and entrepreneur, has made revolutionary strides that have transformed the pharmaceutical industry. His novel methods for controlled drug delivery have improved medical therapy throughout the world. Dr. Zaffaroni received his B.Sc. in 1941 from the University of Montevideo, Uruguay, and his Ph.D. in 1949 from the University of Rochester. He began his career at Syntex, a small pharmaceutical business in Mexico, which he helped transform into a major company headquartered in the U.S. He eventually became president of Syntex Laboratories and Syntex Research Institute. Since then, Dr. Zaffaroni has founded or co-founded nine companies--ALZA, DNAX, Affymax, Affymetrix, Symyx, Maxygen, SurroMed, Perlegen Sciences, and Alexza.

Dr. Zaffaroni received the National Medal of Technology in 1995, the United States government's highest honor for individual achievement in technology. He is a recipient of the President's Award from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel; the CRS Founders Award from the Controlled Release Society; the UCSF Medal from the University of California, San Francisco; a Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Rochester; and the National Biotechnology Award at the National Conference on Biology Ventures. He is an elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Pharmaceutical Association; an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering; and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Information as of April 2005