Women Champions of Science

Insight and Inspiration from the Female Class of 2018 Franklin Institute Awards Recipients

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm

The Franklin Theater

  • Adults
  • Families
  • Free
  • Evening
  • Members

Anne Mulcahy, Susan Trumbore, Helen Quinn, and Manijeh Razeghi are female pioneers in their own fields—globetrotting scientists, visionary business leaders, and universally recognized rock stars. Together, they make up a powerful and elite female class of 2018 Franklin Institute Awards recipients, an inspiration to all generations.  Their work has transformed our world: from understanding the future of climate change to rebuilding a global company in financial crisis; from developing lasers that can detect explosives to setting the standards for teaching science to young students. With extraordinary brilliance and strength, these women are the true definition of female role models. 

In a rare public setting, three of these four laureates sit down with The Franklin Institute’s chief bioscientist Jayatri Das for a discussion that promises to inspire, educate and inform current issues facing our society. 

The conversation will delve into the laureates’ groundbreaking discoveries, reveal life lessons, and probe their strong opinions on cultural movements sweeping our nation, including invaluable advice and encouragement for young women considering scientific careers. 

For more information on these women and the 2018 Franklin Institute Awards Laureates click here.

Dr. Jayatri Das, Chief Bioscientist, The Franklin Institute

Featured Guests: 
Susan Trumbore, Ph.D. | 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth and Environmental Science
Helen Quinn, Ph.D. | 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics 
Manijeh Razeghi, Sc.D. | 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering 

The speaker series is free and open to the public, with advance registration required.

The Franklin Institute Awards Week is generously underwritten by FS Investments

FS Investments Logo

Ticket Prices:

Free; Advance Registration Required