The Franklin Institute Awards Class of 2018

Learn more about the laureates and Awards Week events in the newly released 2018 Franklin Institute Awards Convocation Book. 

As the oldest comprehensive science and technology awards program in the United States, The Franklin Institute Awards has honored more than 2,000 of the most impactful scientists, engineers, inventors, and entrepreneurs since its inception in 1824. We are delighted to induct this year’s class of Franklin Institute laureates—recipients of the Benjamin Franklin Medals, the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science, and the Bower Award for Business Leadership—into this unparalleled legacy. Our nine extraordinary medalists are modern-day exemplars of Franklin’s ingenuity and pioneering spirit.

Philippe Horvath: 2018 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science
Anne M. Mulcahy: 2018 Bower Award for Business Leadership
John B. Goodenough: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry
Vinton Gray Cerf and Robert E. Kahn: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science
Susan Trumbore: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth and Environmental Science
Manijeh Razeghi: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering
Adrian Bejan: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Mechanical Engineering
Helen Rhoda Quinn: 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics

These trailblazers of science, engineering, and business developed technologies that lie at the foundation of the Internet and launched the wireless communications revolution. Their discoveries have made today’s exciting advancements in genome editing and optoelectronics possible. Their work helps us better understand our planet and the very nature of the universe. Their achievements are creating a better future for all of us.

The Franklin Institute Awards Ceremony and Dinner will be held on Thursday, April 19, 2018. For event information, click here.

The Franklin Institute Awards Ceremony and Dinner is presented by: