The Franklin Institute Logo
Case Files logo

Harlow Shapley: Measurement of Galaxies of Vast Distances, 1945


Harlow Shapley was awarded the 1945 Franklin Medal in Physics for "Contributions to Astronomy; measurement of galaxies of vast distances necessary for the determination of the nature and extent of our galaxy and others."

Numerous other awards and honors were bestowed on Shapley and he held many positions of importance. Some of these include:

  • 1926 Draper Medal, National Academy of Sciences
  • 1926 University Medal, Brussels
  • 1931 Medal, Society of Arts and Sciences
  • 1933 Rumford Medal, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1934 Gold Medal, Royal Astronomical Society
  • Janssen Prix of the Astronomical Society, France
  • 1939 Bruce Medal, Astronomical Society of the Pacific
  • Pope Pius XI Prize
  • President of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1939-1944
  • President of American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1947
  • President of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society of North America, 1943-1947

Named for Harlow Shapley: The Shapley crater on the moon, Asteroid 1123 Shapleya, and the American Astronomical Association's Harlow Shapley Visiting Lectureships in Astronomy.